Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Today, today, today...

So I spent most of today working on homework, which wasn't terribly exciting, but I got quite a bit accomplished so that is a good thing :) I then spent the rest of the evening reorganizing some parts of my room and I have to say I love how accomplished I feel when I organize everything! Does anyone else feel this way? Although I will say that sometimes I get these great organizing ideas and get started but I don't always finish them, that can be a little frustrating. Well, that pretty much about sums up my day, I'm sorry it wasn't more interesting lol. On a completely random side note, do you want to know what I found out yesterday? I found out that using M.A.C. foundation is bad for your skin! Not just bad like some makeup is, we're talking like you might as well just walk around with butter on your face. Now, I don't recommend trying that, it would actually be really disgusting, but it was the best way  could think to explain that. Basically anything thick you could wear on your face that would clog your pores, that would be the equivalent. Of course, this is after I just spent $... well quite a bit of money at M.A.C and now I find out that I shouldn't use it. The good news is that I can return it, but it still is kind of frustrating. Did anyone else know this? So I'm telling all of this to my Mom tonight and she says "Well whatever makeup you were wearing wasn't looking too great..." thanks Mom, thanks a lot for telling me then! Hahaha gotta love my Mom though despite that, at least she is honest. So the moral of the story is DO NOT use M.A.C foundations. M.A.C Foundation+Your Face= BAD BAD BAD (for you equation minded people lol). So now I am on a different makeup path, but I must admit that I still love my M.A.C eye shadows (shhhhh... don't tell my esthetician!) So that is the end of my very pointless entry tonight. I'm very excited to spend the day with one of my best friends tomorrow, Dani. She and I always have so much fun together!!! so hopefully I will have something fun to tell everyone tomorrow. Friday I am headed to Orange County for the night, so I'm hoping to do a follow-me-around blog of the trip! I'm so excited for the trip but I'm really excited to go to the Coffee Bean!!!!! I really wish we had one here.... So I will be back with another adventure tomorrow, hopefully it will be more of an adventure than today :) Stay tuned to see what tomorrow brings!

Until then, sweet dreams and sleep tight!!!

xoxo,

S

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Today in a nutshell....

I'm back again for day three of this blog! I must say that this blog is quickly becoming my new favorite thing to do. To start, as I'm sure everyone is "dying" to know, (yes, I use the term dying loosely lol) how wonderful my new bedding is after spending the night in it! As much as I loved looking at it, I loved sleeping in it so much more :) It was very hard to get out of bed this morning. On to today, I started off today with my usual Tuesday drive in to Reno to spend the morning taking care of my favorite baby! I have to say, Tuesday is definitely my favorite day because of the time I spend with little D, I love him :) It's amazing to watch him grow and learn, and even watching him try to walk is fascinating. We went on a fabulous walk today, all of the trees are changing in to the beautiful fall colors which I absolutely love! As I was leaving today, D's sister S jumps in my car and declares "I'm going to California", which I found to be so sweet and funny too!Then I went and got the most amazing facial ever!!!!! I wish it could have lasted all day. After that I hit up Sephora and go some very funny looks from the SA's probably because my face and hair were looking fabulous..... or not so much lol. After that more errands and then home so all in all a pretty typical Tuesday. This is a very long ramble I'm on so if you have gotten this far, I love you :) But now I will make my point. Going back to my walk with the baby, I didn't mention that I was almost run over by a cyclist riding his bike on the sidewalk! First of all, there is a designated bike lane so I would assume that you would ride your bike in the BIKE lane, but maybe I'm assuming too much? Yes, I do know what people say about making assumptions but I think my assumption about using the bike lane is very fair. Ok, so back to "bike boy" as he is not so affectionately known, well he wasn't so much a boy as a man old enough to know better. So everywhere you look people are always saying "Share the Road" for cyclists and "Brake for Bikers" and on and on. We have all seen these signs and warnings, but I want to know, where is the "Brake for Strollers" sign? You know what? I want a designated stroller lane! Oh wait, that's right! It's called a sidewalk! Why is bicycle boy taking over my stroller lane? Not only that, but he had the nerve to tell me to move and give me a dirty look! To quote Stephanie Tanner, "how rude!". If there is a bicycle lane designated for you, use it! They even make it easy for those who cannot designate between a sidewalk and the bicycle lane, they put pictures of a bicycle rider along the bike lane just in case there is any confusion! Share the road? How about share the sidewalk? Am I wrong about this? Perhaps it's a slight over-reaction, but bicycle boy came very close to hitting me, so now I'm upset. Sorry to those of you who ride their bikes often, this is not meant to offend you but to caution you to watch out for those of us pushing a stroller on the SIDEWALK, it's not like we can just jump out of the way. Looking back, as much as it was irritating, it was also entertaining. I mean, how do you glare at someone pushing a stroller with the cutest baby ever? Obviously bicycle boy was not having a very good day! So that's my story for today, thanks for reading my ramble and rant. Who knows what tomorrow will bring! Stay tuned for tomorrow's adventure, pretty please :)


Until then, sweet dreams and sleep tight.


xoxo,


S

Monday, October 18, 2010

Day 2....

I was really hoping to have a much more entertaining title for this post, however, being the sleep deprived person I am today I really couldn't come up with anything better! Today is day two of my foray in to the blogging world, and I suppose this post will be more of a review. October 9th was my birthday, and for my present my Mom gave me new bedding that I am absolutely in love with. The duvet cover is from a company called West Elm that has a lot of contemporary decor.  I got the pin tuck duvet cover in the color "natural" which can be seen here: http://www.westelm.com/products/organic-cotton-pin-tuck-duvet-cover-and-shams-b340/?pkey=cduvet-covers-quilts. Well it finally arrived today and it was love at first sight! Of course I loved it online but it is so much more beautiful in person. And it is sooooo soft. I washed it and put it on my bed with my new sheets and it is absolutely beautiful. I will try to post pictures later. I also got new sheets from Bed, Bath and Beyond. They are, believe it or not made from a fiber from a beech tree!!!! And they are sooo amazingly soft and yummy lol. I got a beautiful crimson color that looks amazing with the duvet cover! The sheets can be seen here: http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?SKU=112370&COL=600&RN=16& . The sheets are so wonderful, I had a set of them when I lived in the dorms my freshman year and you would not believe how comfortable they are. As you can imagine, I am very excited to go to bed tonight, here's hoping that I can actually sleep!!! Well that's all for now, I just wanted to share how excited I am about my new bedding :) In the coming week I think I will do a review of my new skin care routine. I am using the Perfect Skin system endorsed by the Kardashian sisters. However, I have only used it for 2 days and can't quite give a full review yet. So far, I am loving it! But that's another topic for another day!


Until then, sweet dreams and sleep tight...

xoxo

S

And so it begins...

Hello World :)

I have to say, there is a lot of pressure associated with your first blog post! I'm wondering what to say, how to say it and who will read it, but perhaps I am getting ahead of myself. There are so many things I want to say with this blog, whether it be my life, current events, reviews, makeup, movies, books, tv, music and the list goes on... It's my blog and I suppose I can talk about whatever I feel like, right? I guess I could start with a little bit about myself, which you can also read in my "about me" section. I'm 22 years old now, as of October 9th, and live in California. I'm originally from good ol' Orange County (yes, that Orange County!) but now I live in a very small town. I'm a college student studying Criminal Justice and Psychology. I attend the University of Nevada and am proud to say so. I have a wonderful family, and I am especially close to my Mom. I'm a girly-girl and I love to laugh. I feel like there is so much more to say, I just don't know what to say lol. Well, it doesn't help that it is almost 2:30 am and I'm still not asleep. So rather than just lay in bed and stare at my ceiling while everyone else sleeps away I decided now was as good a time as any to blog. I usually never have trouble sleeping so who knows why I am still awake. I must say that my dog has very vivid dreams at this time of night! You may be wondering what my purpose is for writing this blog, and to be perfectly honest, that is something I am still trying to figure out! I have a very entertaining life, at least I think I do, and have been encouraged to tell my stories to the world. Granted, I am not a nobel prize winner or a celebrity but I must say that on a daily basis I love my life and find most of it to be hilarious :) I love to talk and share stories with people, so I am hoping someone finds this blog entertaining! Trying to be articulate at 2:30 in the morning is not the easiest thing to do! So, for now I think I will end this ramble and once again try to go back to sleep. If you have read this whole thing, thank you! And if you haven't I won't blame you lol.... Well that is all for now! Tune in for tomorrow's adventure (pretty please?)! 

Until then, sweet dreams and sleep tight.

xoxo

S