I'm back again for day three of this blog! I must say that this blog is quickly becoming my new favorite thing to do. To start, as I'm sure everyone is "dying" to know, (yes, I use the term dying loosely lol) how wonderful my new bedding is after spending the night in it! As much as I loved looking at it, I loved sleeping in it so much more :) It was very hard to get out of bed this morning. On to today, I started off today with my usual Tuesday drive in to Reno to spend the morning taking care of my favorite baby! I have to say, Tuesday is definitely my favorite day because of the time I spend with little D, I love him :) It's amazing to watch him grow and learn, and even watching him try to walk is fascinating. We went on a fabulous walk today, all of the trees are changing in to the beautiful fall colors which I absolutely love! As I was leaving today, D's sister S jumps in my car and declares "I'm going to California", which I found to be so sweet and funny too!Then I went and got the most amazing facial ever!!!!! I wish it could have lasted all day. After that I hit up Sephora and go some very funny looks from the SA's probably because my face and hair were looking fabulous..... or not so much lol. After that more errands and then home so all in all a pretty typical Tuesday. This is a very long ramble I'm on so if you have gotten this far, I love you :) But now I will make my point. Going back to my walk with the baby, I didn't mention that I was almost run over by a cyclist riding his bike on the sidewalk! First of all, there is a designated bike lane so I would assume that you would ride your bike in the BIKE lane, but maybe I'm assuming too much? Yes, I do know what people say about making assumptions but I think my assumption about using the bike lane is very fair. Ok, so back to "bike boy" as he is not so affectionately known, well he wasn't so much a boy as a man old enough to know better. So everywhere you look people are always saying "Share the Road" for cyclists and "Brake for Bikers" and on and on. We have all seen these signs and warnings, but I want to know, where is the "Brake for Strollers" sign? You know what? I want a designated stroller lane! Oh wait, that's right! It's called a sidewalk! Why is bicycle boy taking over my stroller lane? Not only that, but he had the nerve to tell me to move and give me a dirty look! To quote Stephanie Tanner, "how rude!". If there is a bicycle lane designated for you, use it! They even make it easy for those who cannot designate between a sidewalk and the bicycle lane, they put pictures of a bicycle rider along the bike lane just in case there is any confusion! Share the road? How about share the sidewalk? Am I wrong about this? Perhaps it's a slight over-reaction, but bicycle boy came very close to hitting me, so now I'm upset. Sorry to those of you who ride their bikes often, this is not meant to offend you but to caution you to watch out for those of us pushing a stroller on the SIDEWALK, it's not like we can just jump out of the way. Looking back, as much as it was irritating, it was also entertaining. I mean, how do you glare at someone pushing a stroller with the cutest baby ever? Obviously bicycle boy was not having a very good day! So that's my story for today, thanks for reading my ramble and rant. Who knows what tomorrow will bring! Stay tuned for tomorrow's adventure, pretty please :)
Until then, sweet dreams and sleep tight.
xoxo,
S
Oh Sarah, haven't you heard? People like bicycle boy are given the constitutional right to ride wherever and run over whomever they please... at least that's what I'm guessing based on your story and my own experiences. Apparently, if you ride a bike you're free to choose to be:
ReplyDeletea) a car & cruise in the middle of a street,
b) a bike and ride in the bike lane or,
c) a pedestrian and race along the sidewalk.
Of course many riders seem to opt for being all 3 and have fun whipping from sidewalk to bike lane to the middle of the street. When I actually DO see somebody being safe and respectful on a bike, I'm quite amazed, which is sad :(
Just be thankful you didn't get hit!